On This Page
Fillongley Provincial Park
Attention Visitors – Important Notice!
Campfire ban in effect
Until further notice, a campfire ban is implemented in Fillongley Park. This ban coincides with the Denman Island Fire Department campfire ban for the island.
About This Park
This small picturesque park on the north side of Denman Island offers an idyllic location to enjoy a picnic and spend a quiet afternoon. The land that is now Fillongley Provincial Park was bequeathed to the province of British Columbia by George Beadnell, an Englishman who settled here at the turn of the century. Over the years, Beadnell developed Fillongley into one of the most beautiful estates in the Gulf Islands. A large, flat grassy field – once the site of a bowling green – comes alive with vibrant wildflowers in the spring. Set amongst a canopy of imported deciduous trees, this park is also noted for its beautiful display of colours in the fall.
Ten campsites are located along the ocean, and there are several walking trails through the park where visitors can observe the old-growth cedar forest, a salmon spawning stream and remains of the old homestead.
Established Date: January 19, 1954
Park Size: 26 hectares
Know Before You Go
- Fillongley only has 10 campsites and is usually full on weekends during the summer. We recommend having alternate camping plans on Denman Island in case this park is full.
- The nearest sani-stations are located at the Esso gas station in Cumberland or the Mohawk gas station in Courtenay on Vancouver Island.
- The closest boat launch is at Bill Mee Park, approximately 10 km away on East Road on Denman Island.
Location and Maps
Maps and Brochures
Nature and Culture
- History: Fillongley Park was once owned by George Beadnell, an Englishman who settled here at the turn of the century. Over the years, Beadnell developed Fillongley into one of the most beautiful estates in the Gulf Islands. Beadnell deeded the property to the provincial government in 1953 on the condition that they allow him to live out his days at his home here and they retain the name Fillongley. As a part of the transfer Beadnell, who died in 1958, wished to be buried on the property – today his gravesite can be seen along the Homestead Trail. Remains of his homestead are also visible, as are a number of unusual heritage trees that Beadnell imported from England and transplanted on the property. The flat meadow in the park was once the site of his bowling green.
- Conservation: Little George Creek, which flows through the park, is a salmon spawning stream. Please protect this delicate habitat. The park is also home to wildflower meadows and a variety of unusual trees that George Beadnell imported from England.
- Management Planning Information
Approved Master Plan [PDF] for Fillongley, Tribune Bay, Helliwell, and Sandy Island Provincial Parks.
This is not the original management planning product. This document has been scanned from the original format of the plan. It may contain some formatting changes, however the content is consistent with the original.
Activities Available at this Park
There are 2 km of wheelchair accessible walking trails through the park. One of these trails is a short loop from the parking area through the field (approximately 10 minutes to the field). Another trail heads west from the parking area and follows Beadnell Creek canyon through lush second-growth forest. This trail connects with Swan Road; visitors can return to the parking lot either back down the trail or along Beadnell Road. One-way walking time to Swan Road is approximately 30 minutes.
For your own safety and the preservation of the park, obey posted signs and keep to designated trails. Shortcutting trails destroys plant life and soil structure.
Pets on Leash
Facilities Available at this Park
Pit or Flush Toilets
Vehicle Accessible Camping
This park offers 10 vehicle accessible campsites, located next to the beach. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring.
During the summer, the campground very popular and is 100% reservable.