Migratory Birds

Migratory birds are jointly managed by the province, primarily federal. They include such species as: Ducks, Geese, Brant, Coots, Snipe, Mourning Doves and Band-tailed Pigeons and more. Ducks, geese and all other migratory birds are under the mandated of the Canadian Wildlife Service (CWS). The CWS is the agency that issues crop damage and scare permits for waterfowl.

For more Migratory Birds information, such as the Convention Act, 2008 hunting regulations, or hunting permits, etc., please visit the Canadian Wildlife Services - Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 website.