Ministry of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations

Wildlife Viewing in the Skeena Region

The Northwest part of British Columbia is known as the Skeena Region. It is a mountainous landscape, broken by large plateaus, hundreds of lakes and several of the province's largest rivers including the Skeena, the Nass and the Stikine. On the coast, dense rain forests border long fiords surrounded by steep sided granite peaks. Off the coast, there is a sea of islands, including the Queen Charlotte Islands west of Prince Rupert.

The Skeena Region occupies approximately 316,870 square kilometres in the northwestern corner of British Columbia. The region contains major populations of large mammals, many significant rivers and streams, and many wetlands and coastal estuaries that are important for nesting, migrating and wintering waterfowl and other water birds. This region also contains the biologically unique Queen Charlotte Islands.

Wildlife viewing brochure for the Skeena region [PDF 450KB]